What A Mess…

Here is my situation. I just received my August check for $196., and a letter from the VA saying I would receive $1475 in October, and $1565 in November and nothing in December because of my hours that I am taking. I am going to Austin Community College as a full time student taking four classes but because the instructor decided to make the course 8 weeks instead of 16 weeks I am being penalized for the course. 
 
Then I am suppose to register for the next semester October 30, and pay for my books and registration and I haven’t finished paying for this semester. I was following the rules for VRAP. I was unemployed now the school VA person is saying I can be employed and I said, “show me”, and they cannot show me anything, and I don’t want to lose my certificate to go to school under VRAP. 
 
Its a mess. And I just don’t know what to do….your help is appreciated.

About vrapvet

I am a USAF Veteran that is going back to school under the new VRAP program. This blog is going to help me walk the talk about online education, going back to school past 50 and talk about my experience.
This entry was posted in Legislation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What A Mess…

  1. Tom Thum says:

    You can have a job with the VRAP, after they start payment. From what i understand they will
    pay you to use the money how you see fit. See if you can get the pell grant to help you or the Hazlewood Act. On a side note how long did it take for your Vrap to start.

    • vrapvet says:

      Tom,

      I enrolled August 24, 2012, was certified on September 28, 2012, and got my first check October 5, 2012. I did apply for the Pell Grant but ACC said it would take 8 weeks to process and for me to see anything. I still havent seen anything. I am looking for a job now.

  2. Tom Thum says:

    Keep your head up man it will get better.

Leave a comment